Creative Writing

Who Says You Don’t Find Love In Horror?

“Rose, hurry up! What’s taking so long?”

“I’m trying to pick one, relax.”

“Just pick one goddamnit!”

Even though I love my twin brother John, he needs to learn patience and that picking out the perfect horror movie takes time. Do you want blood n’ gore? Do you want more of a thriller? Or do you actually want to sleep that night? It takes time and he needs to just calm down.

“John, just give me a minute!”

“Well hurry the fuck up!”

“I’m stuck between Nightmare on Elm Street and The Exorcist.” These two are favorite horror movies of all time, so I’ve seen them enough to know where the scary parts are so I don’t look like a baby in front my brothers’ friends or my own.

“I like Nightmare on Elm Street.” That angel of a voice which sends chills directly down my spine and a big air bubble in throat so I can’t speak or even breathe. I completely forgot that he was coming over. I hope I look cute in my Hello Kitty pajamas. Oh well, he’s probably going to think they are adorable. I hope.

“ROSE NOW!”

“Holy shit John, I’m coming! Hold on!”

Walking up these steps are taking forever, I can start to feel the sweat already dripping from my forehead. Or is it me just being nervous because Mark’s here. Yep, it’s definitely walking up the stairs.

“Here John, now hurry up and put the movie in you shit.” And there goes up the middle finger ladies and gentlemen. But that smirk from Mark is making me sweat even more.

“Rose, where are you going?”

“I’m going to the bathroom Tiff, come with me! Meg, you too!”

Ahh, I can finally breathe. I can feel my heartbeat in my ears slowly returning to my chest.

“Rose, I can’t believe he’s here. Are you going to talk to him?”, Megan said with her dorky smile and her obnoxiously raised eyebrows.

“I don’t know, do you think I should?”

“Well I’m going to tell you no because he’s your brothers’ friend, however, you’re my best friend and I want to see you happy and I we all know you’ve liked him forever, so talk to him. You really don’t have anything to lose. Well unless he laughs in your face.”

“Thanks Tiff, that’s really kind of you.” Her bitchy smile isn’t as good as mine, but it’s getting close. I need more practice.

“Are you ladies almost down wiping each other’s asses or can we watch the movie now?” I seriously don’t know what John’s problem is, but if he needed a tampon, he should’ve just asked.

The amount of eye rolling is making my head hurt, so I find my spot next to Mark, but not so close that it’s obvious that I’m purposely sitting next to him. Tiff and Meg both turn around and give me a wink which is so over exaggerated that Mark notices it and begins to chuckle. Now the heat is rushing to my cheeks. Fuck.

Mark’s warm words whispers in my ear, “you know if you get scared, you can hold on to me.” I slowly turn my head towards his direction and I can feel his breath on my face. That’s how close we are to each other.

“I’ve seen this movie a million times, so I know when Freddie comes, but if you’re scared, you can hold me.” I’m totally working that bitchy teasing smile thing right now, but Mark doesn’t seem to get it. His smile drops and looks back to the screen right when young Johnny Depp is getting eaten by his bed.

I can see the replay of the last few seconds repeating over and over again in my head and I wish I just went along him, but now he probably thinks I’m a bitch. Well I am his best friend’s twin sister, so of course, I’m a bitch. Then something so twisted and completely logical pops into my head. What if Mark actually likes John? We are twins, so we are pretty much the same person just in two different bodies. What if he’s actually gay and doesn’t want to come out to my brother so he’s trying to get with me to hide his love for my brother. I mean it’s the only reasonable explanation. Oh my god, I think I’m going to be sick.

“AHH!” Fuck you Freddie! Every single time! The ending will always scare the shit out of me. I mean know it’s coming, but it still gets me.

“So I guess you got scared after all?” I can’t believe that my childish scream made my entire body transport into Mark’s lap. What do I do? Do I get off of him? Is he mad? I froze from embarrassment. I turned to face him, but I could barely see each other, but eventually I eyes do meet and I can’t help but to stare into those Emerald City eyes. They are by far the most beautiful eyes I’ve ever seen. The longer I stare into those Evergreens, the heat travels up into my cheeks.

“I guess I did get scared a little bit.”

I was having trouble breathing.

“I’m sorry I jumped into your lap.”

“It’s fine. I was hoping you were going to get sacred and get closer.”

“Why?” I saw a little smile forming in the corner of his mouth.

“Because I’ve always wanted an excuse to be this close to you.”

Oh look, my heart is pounding so hard, my eardrums are about to explode. And the heat is filling my cheeks with fire.

“Why’s that?”

His mouth begins to part just a little bit, but not quite enough to speak. My inner self is doing the happy dance and I can’t stop jumping up and down. I can’t believe that it took me to jump into his lap for him to try something. I wish I would’ve jumped into his lap years ago.

He started to stare into my eyes and I can’t help but smile. His eyes start to follow my lips and I part mine just enough for him to get the hint that I want him. Within seconds, I can feel our lips touching and I can’t begin to think, all I know is that my eardrums begin to erupt and a swarm of butterflies invade my stomach.

Minutes go by, I think when I notice that I’m squinting my eyes. Why is it so bright in here? Who turned the lights on?

Both of our eyes bolted opened at the exact same time.

“What the fuck Mark?!”

We both jolt up to John’s beaming directly into Mark’s soul as he was slowly killing me. On the other hand, Tiffany and Megan are behind John with the dork smiles on their face with both of their thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

